One Two
Sie sind hier: Startseite Beirat Laufer


Prof. Dr. Stefan A. Laufer

Chair for Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Eberhard-Karls-University Tuebingen


Curriculum Vitae


1984 Degree in Pharmacy, University of Regensburg
1989 PhD in Pharmaceutical Chemistry, University of Regensburg
1997 Habilitation  for Pharmaceutical Chemistry, University of Mainz

Professional appointments

1988 - 90 Postdoc, Institute of Pharmaceutical Chemistry and Biopharmacy, Frankfurt
1990 - 96 Head Department Drug Research, Merckle GmbH, Blaubeuren, Germany
1996 - 99   R&D-Director, Member of the Board, Merckel Pharmaceuticals, Ulm
1996 - 99  Managing Director, Asahi-Merckle-Pharma, Ulm
1996 - 07 Member of the Board,  ProGen Biotech GmbH, Heidelberg
1999 - present
Chair for Pharmaceutical Chemistry, Head of the Department of Pharmaceutical/Medicinal Chemistry, Eberhard-Karls-University Tuebingen
2003 - 06 Dean of the Faculty of Chemistry and Pharmacy
2003 - 06 Director of the  Institute of Pharmacy
2003 - present Founding Dean of the German Pharmacy University in Cairo
2005 - present Director of the Brasilienzentrum Baden Württemberg
2005 - present Cofounder ICEPHA, since 2011 Chairman of the board (interfaculty Center for Phamacogenomics and Pharma Research)
2006 - 15 Vice president Board of Trustees Eberhard-Karls-University Tuebingen
2008 - 13 Member of the Board, BioPro Baden-Württemberg GmbH, Stuttgart
Tuebingen Center for Academic Drug Discovery & Development (TüCAD2) Cofounder and Chairman

Postgraduate Education

1989 Specialist for Pharmaceutical Analytics (Fachapotheker)
1994 Specialist for Toxicolgy (Fachapotheker)
1997 Advanced Management Training, Euopean Inst. Business Administration INSEAD Fontainebleue, France



American Chemical Society, International Society of Medicinal Chemistry
Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (GDCh)
Deutsche Pharmazeutische Gesellschaft (DPhG)
Östrreichische Pharmazeutische Gesellschaft (ÖPhG)
Inflammation Research Assocation

Scientific Board Positions

Deutsche Pharmazeutische Gesellschaft DPhG (German Pharmaceutical Society)
President 2016-19, Vice President, 2012-15, since 2008 Vice President MedChem Division
Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (GDCh), Board Member MedChem Divisions since 2011
DECHEMA: 2012-18 Board Member ChemBioNet
Journal of Medicinal Chemistry (ACS): since 2010 Editorial Advisory Board Member
Research Commission Medical Faculty, Uni Tuebingen, AKF, Member since 2001
INCT-INOFAR of Drugs and Medicines, UFRJ, Brasil, Scientific Adisory Board since 2014
Center for Personalized Medicine, Uni Tuebingen, Board Member since 2015
Chemical Probes Portal SGC-UNC, Member of the Scientific Advisory Board since 2015


Medicinal Chemistry/Drug Discoery, Molecular targets: COX-1/2/3, Lipoxygenases, cPLA2, mPGES1, Cytokine-Release-Inhibitors, Proteinkinase-Inhibitors, Transscription factors
391 publicationen (abstracts excluded), > 7.000 citations, h-factor 43 (ISI Web of Science)
38 patent families, 313 national applications
15 books/book chapters

Honors (selected)

1998 Chair Pharm. Chemistry, Uni Bonn, rejected
1999 Chair Pharm. Chemistry, Uni Tuebingen, accepted
2003 Chair Pharm. Chemistry, Uni Freiburg, rejected
2006 and 2017 Phoenix Wissenschaftspreis Pharmazie
2014 Permanent Member (Mebro Correspondente) of the Brasilian Academy of Science
2016 Teaching Award Faculty of Medicine: best Lecture (Advanced Molecular Oncology)
2017 ACS Journal Stars: Medicinal Chemistry, top 10 (#5) most prolific author 2010-16